Orientation Shoutout part 3

5 07 2010

The last day of orientation wasn’t that long. But that is not to say that it was not important. First was breakfast. Olivia, my roommate, did her normal hour long toilet routine, while I did my thirty minute bible reading/throw on clothes and fluff hair routine. Actually Hannah came to get me for breakfast halfway through so I cut it short.

After breakfast we went to sign up for classes. Being a music major I got to go to Linda’s office and wait for her to register me. I was out of there by 9:45am. My phone had died so the challenge was to find Mom and get my I.D. Magically the place to pick up my picture I.D. was in the same room Mom was {phew}. I got my stuff out of my dorm and in the car. We checked out the bookstore and all their school supplies. At eleven we met up with Lora Deahl, the faculty member which I will be studying with at Texas Tech, for lunch. She took us to a little cafe that was so cool. None of the furniture matched. It looked like they had gone to different garage sales to collect tables and chairs. Then they printed a different menu everyday and had mason jars to drink out of. If they ran out of a certain menu item you simply had to order something else.

The result of our lunch was Mom got to meet Dr. Deahl and we discussed what I should work on this summer. After leaving Texas Tech we drove by and saw The large Buddy Holly glasses, toured a winery and stopped by mom’s friend Correne’s house. I got to meet her daughter Megan and her little boy Tres who was SO cute! We ate at a little burger stop which I can never get the name right. Eventually we made it home at midnight.

It was a great trip and it gave me a taste of college life, but now I am dying to go back!

Actions

Information

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

