Beethoven and the Birth of Romanticism

12 09 2010

Lora Deahl started of the recital with Bagatelles Opus 126 by Beethoveen.  This piece has six parts alternating slow and fast.  The first one Andante con moto, cantabile e compiacevole [Translated: moderately slow with motion, in a singing style and agreeable].  That is precisely how Dr. Deahl played it.  It really set the mood with its beautiful melody and flowing manner.  She immediately jumped in the second one, Allegro.  It was fast paced, alternating with beautiful melodic sections.  It sounded like something I would play.  She took a quick breath between numbers two and three, Andante, cantabile e grazioso [moderately slow, in a singing style and gracful]. It started very slow, and very soft and ended that way.  It was very pretty but I was happy when it was over.  It did have one exciting fast paced cadence.  The fourth one Presto [not the spaghetti sauce] sounded like an exciting race in the flower fields.  I spaced out for a bit so I didn’t notice the change from the fourth to the fifth, Allegretto. The sixth was also a Presto and sounded like two people trying to out talk each other at first.  Then a lovely section came that sounded like graceful ballet dancers.  It made for a nice finish.

The second piece she played was Fantasy in F Minor, Op. 49 by Frederic Chopin. It started off with low notes setting a mood almost like something you would hear out of a mystery film.  It went between slow suspenseful parts and fast parts full of action.  It used a lot of low notes added to that suspenseful feel.  I teared up over this piece, but I’m not sure if it was what I was thinking about [memories conjured up by the piece] or whether it was the piece itself.  I will vote on the piece until further notice.

After the intermission she gave a short explanation for her next piece, Kinderszenen (Scenes From Childhood), Op. 15 by Robert Schumann.  She explained that even though it had the ‘Childhood’ word in the name, it was not a piece meant for children because of the technical difficulties.  I got lost on which piece was which, but I can tell you that it is a very difficult piece, a very beautiful piece and it is very playful.  It reminded me of Mozart stuff.

Finally we come to the GOOD stuff! She played Sonata in C Major (“Waldstein”) by Beethoven.  The first movement Allegro con brio [Translation: Cheerful and brisk with spirit] started soft and fast.  It grew into a series of legato and then back down to the chaos.  I would compare it to a mass of energy.  The second movement Introduzione – Adagio molto [Translation: Introduction – Slow much] was soft and slow.  It climaxed into a distressful sounding section and went into the beautiful flowingness.  I missed the exact moment when it became the third movement Rondo – Allegretto moderato.  But what I did observe was the octave section that gave it character.  The piece ended with a bang, which is how pieces should end, in my opinion.

Thank goodness the people at this recital seemed a lot more mature, than the violin one.  I didn’t have to look at phone screens except during the intermission, but that would be very whiney.  Plus my phone screen was one on them at the time.

I did forget to steal a poster about this recital from the music building to hang on my wall.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 09 2010
Travelinglk

Augh!! I feel so behind…. 3 posts since I’ve been on. o.O

13 09 2010
toothpic

I’m pretty sure I am behind on yours also so don’t feel bad!

13 09 2010
Travelinglk

Okay, I’ll try not to feel bad. I’m slowly catching up on yours…reading a few minutes between class time.

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

