Tiffany Knight

18 03 2011

I was reading a book called ‘Diary of a Teenage Girl: Face the Music’ by Melody Carlson and I got to a part when the girl had had a friend died, but it was a friend that she resented and really didn’t like.

“I used to believe that God had given me Tiffany Kight as my personal cross to bear-you know what I mean? That hard thing in your life that just never seems to go away? I honestly thought I would have to drag this girl around with me for the rest of my days.  But now she’s dead and you know what? I wish, more than anything that she were alive and that I could take her everywhere with me.  I wish that I could be her best friend and love her the way Jesus loves me and I wish I could talk to her and pray with her and all sorts of things.  But guess what? It’s too late.  She’s dead.  I’ll never have the chance again.”

Tears were runnin down my cheeks now.  “And this is what I want to say to you.  Everybody has a Tiffany Knight in their lives.  Or maybe you are one yourself…And what I want to tell you all tonight is that we don’t know how long these people are going to be around.  I’m sure Tiffany didn’t get up Saturday morning and realize that she was about to live the last day of her life.  So my challenge is to every one including myself is this: Let’s live each day as if it were our last, lets love everyone like we won’t be seeing them again.  Let’s live our lives for God so that we’ll have no regrets when it’s time to call it a day.”

I almost cried when I read this.  I have a couple of Tiffany Knights in my life.  I know they are in my life for a reason and I’ve kind of viewed them as ‘Ughhhh, I have to talk to them again.’ Sometimes I even purposely avoid them because I don’t feel like talking to them. I’m not going to name my Tiffany Knights by name because I don’t want to give people bad names.  I already talked too much about one of my Tiffany’s to my sister.  She said “I already don’t like her”, which was not the intention I was going for. Anyway, I wanted to write out this revelation.  There are times that I believe that I’m ‘loving’ people because I am tolerating them but really I’m just barely tolerating them. Or I go through all the motions and I feel like I’m loving them but in reality I’m just going through the motions.

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13:3

Actions

Information

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

