19 Minutes

11 07 2011

The first camp came through. That was so much fun. Getting to know my campers were really cool! I had girls in my cabin and a pink color group of older kids aged 13-15 that I led around to the different activities. Some of my favorite kids were Carson, Morgan, Braxton, and Kayla. Beyond that I loved all the kids but those few stood out in my mind. I wish I could really share with you how cute they were and how they affected my life but I can’t really put it into words.

JoAnna makes me laugh like no other. We are dormmates here at camp. She is very blunt but not in a super rude way, just in a JoAnna way. I don’t have a quote off the top of my head but she really make me laugh. Sometimes what she says isn’t funny at all but it’s the fact that she said it.

I’m having those moments when I decide to give up on people. By giving up on people I don’t mean that I find them hopeless, I’m just giving up on trying to be a control freak and help them. I want them to know that I’m here for them if they need me but I’m not going to force myself into their lives. I’m also really working on putting into practice my new life motto, “Do the right thing”. Today, I spoke up in a situation where I normally would have gotten nervous and kept my mouth shut. I’m not going to write about it here for work reasons but if you want the story than let me know.

Sometimes I can be really hyper and excited about everything while other times I feel quiet and contemplative. Today was a quiet and contemplative day. Today I thought about all the people I loved and how blessed I am to be where I am.
Yesterday I read the book ’19 Minutes’ by Jodi Picoult. It was riveting, it made me cry, and it made me feel like doing something to change the world. It was about a boy bullied his whole life and eventually he goes and shoots a bunch of people at school. The way the author writes the book you can see why he did it and it’s hard to point a finger at anybody as far as it being somebody’s fault. I saw a lot of places where people did things and it made me resolve to never do such things, such as abandoning friends or bullying.

This is a picture of me and Bennet’s cutie daughter.

20110711-020902.jpg

Actions

Information

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

