30 Week Challenge…Day 2

9 11 2012

This week’s challenge is to write about five favorite concert experiences.

1. Midori Goto is a Japanese American violinist.  I got the opportunity to see her at the Bass Performance Hall in Fort Worth when I was really young.  All I can recall nowadays is that her performance had me awestruck and I knew that i wanted to play the violin.  That’s what got me where I am now playing violin at Julliard… just kidding.  Her performance gave me a love for the violin and I really want to learn how to play it.  After three years I can play Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, and Go Tell Aunt Rhody.  It’s a start.

2. Alexander Kobrin is a Russian pianist who won the Van Cliburn Piano Competition in 2005.  After that he had a performance at the Bass Performance Hall and I was lucky enough to go see him.  He has a wonderful touch at the piano and he reminded me of all the reasons I love the piano.  He not only plays wonderfully but he is very attractive also which is an added bonus.

3. The School of Music at Texas Tech renovated their organ this summer.  At the beginning of September they had a re dedication concert for it.  They brought in James David Christie, a famous American organist to play the concert.  The first song he picked really showed off how much the renovation improved the sound of the organ.  It inspired me to get off my butt and learn the organ.  If all goes well then next semester I will be taking organ lessons.

4. MercyMe was amazing in concert.  Re solidifying the fact that they are one of my all time favorite bands ever.  I remember feeling refreshed and at peace after their concert.  I really need to go see them again.

5. Sanctus Real was the same thing.  I felt rejuvenated after seeing them in concert. There is no other way to describe it.  The more I listen to them, the more I fall in love with their music.  Now go check them out.

Honorable Mentions: Lang Lang, Michael W. Smith, First Baptist Church Dallas’ piano duet concert, Hawk Nelson.

Songs I’m loving:

Sanctus Real – Alone

MercyMe – In You

Maroon 5 – One More Night

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 11 2012
mcb2014

I know that you have been doing it for a while, but I like your idea of putting “Songs I’m Loving” at the bottom of your posts. You’ve inspired me to do that. Sanctus Real songs have been really hitting home for me in the last few days and I have loved the last couple of Mercyme albums.

13 11 2012
toothpic

aww thanks! I used to try and write about songs but there were too many and some I just wasn’t sure how to describe. :)

11 11 2012
supernerd64

man you’ve seen some awesome performers!

13 11 2012
toothpic

All thanks to my mother who wanted us cultured :)

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

