30 Week Challenge… Day 7

18 12 2012

This post was due last Saturday, and the challenge was to name your five best friends and five great qualities of them. I picked five people who are part of my daily life and have been very true friends. Honestly my list can be a lot longer but these five people get gold stars.

Lauren is a friend I’ve known since I was 13 years old. She has a sense of humor that can find humor in any situation, and she always points me back to God, to prayer, when I am stressing out and worrying about the little things or big things in life. She reminds me of all the little things that I am blessed with. We have managed to stay very close by writing letters which apparently has been proven by psychologists to be the factor that consistently determines the success of long distance relationships. She is long past the high school drama phase and I don’t feel like if I say the wrong thing or talk too much about myself that she’ll get mad or annoyed. It can be months without us seeing each other but it’s not weird or hurtful since we both are very busy and she doesn’t live right around the corner.

Amber is a girl I met a year ago. She and I share a birthday (next month is our 21 woot woot), and we look for ways to do things such as eat out once a week but do it cheaply. We also are trying to make fitness one of our goals. We made more progress this year than ever as far as sticking to something, we stuck with a weekly water aerobics class and that set the tone for the rest of the week as far as it seeming possible to make it to the gym. As an engineer she’s really busy, but yet since she is past high school drama also it’s not super dramatic if one of us is busy. She inspires me to strive for being more than fine, and to not settle for low standardsfor myself.

Bobby is a guy that I met in my studio piano class. I don’t know if I can really pinpoint exactly why we are friends.  We bonded over our shared love for music, but the fact that we aren’t people who slave away in the practice room for hours a day.  We talk about life in general, and I always walk away feeling that things really aren’t that bad and things are really good.  He makes me question things about religion and examine really why I am believing what I’m believing. Also he helps me see how people are so ridiculous and he’s helped me pinpoint exactly what about people annoy me so I can learn to cope with that and learn from that.  He’s definitely over the high school drama phase also.  Half the time when I’m telling him about a problem he just laughs and it helps me laugh about it too instead of getting all uptight over it.

Janay is my current roommate.  She understands that if two people are in a room it doesn’t have to be awkward if you aren’t talking to each other the whole time. She is older also and is past the high school drama (notice a recurring theme here?), she’s pretty funny and we have great discussions about people and how they interact such as on the sitcoms we watch, and people in real life and especially classmates.  She feels like I’m not crazy and I love coming home everyday to see her and talk to her about things.  We both agree if we had to see each other all day everyday we would kill each other, but as of now we just see each other in the evenings.

Kate is a thinker for sure.  We love making plans to do things together.  I’m usually the one who comes up with stuff and then she’ll ask all the details and I actually have to think out everything that I just threw together.  There is hardly anything we won’t try to do at least once.  When it comes to free things between the two of us, we know where to find everything free.  If you need someone to make a late ice cream/fro yo run, Kate is the woman to call.  As far as discussing people, she always relates it to wolf packs or some other form of animal group which cracks me up a lot.  When it comes to learning the history of things she’s always interested in that and half the time she’s researched it herself.

Songs I’m loving:

P!nk – Try

Ben Folds – Draw a Crowd

Alex Clare – Too Close

Actions

Information

So what are your thoughts?

Ms. Mary's Classroom

Education is not the filling of pail, but the lighting of a fire. - William Butler Yeats

carriemeghan photography

life through the eyes of a photo-lover

saralubbers

Just another WordPress.com site

Forever Knighted

Random thoughts from a sixteen year old knight of his King.

The Lipstick Gospel

Celebrating the Beauty Around Us and Within Us

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

GOD is my ROCK star

ROCKing out with GOD

A Child's Tears

Together we can change tears and fears into smiles and laughter.

jffl1013

Just another WordPress.com site

